They are added to the steam user you are logged in with.
Your account must be activated. At the moment we are just approving a few to test the service.
You will lose the rank without compensation
You will lose all your ranks connected to that server
The server owner is the one responsible for giving you the benefits of the rank. The website is only responsible for the transaction. You can do /rank to see your rank on the server.